Uncategorized

Sweet Potato Corn Cakes

image

An ingredients photo above! This is only a photo of the second half of adding ingredients I don’t have one of the initial mixing of ingredients however.  As you see it’s a few steps in this process.

image

Final result photo!

Okay y’all! So this week I had been wanting to try a new thing again! So this week it was sweet potato corn cakes. I pinned this about two months ago and have been wanting to try it ever since. So i began collecting my ingredients. Most of my ingredients are fresh, but of course there is always some spices that aren’t always going to be what we consider “fresh.” Of course, we always enjoy our traditional sweet potato slices and feta, but I wanted to do something way different. And as always, recipes are made to be adapted to your taste buds! As I was making these because I used nearly all fresh ingredients there was a lot of chopping to do. Also probably a lot more so because I paired this with the Henson version of taco salad. Which I’ll share at the end of this post. So in all that, prepare yourself for being in the kitchen a good minute. But remember the end result is worth the time! :mrgreen:

Ingredients Required:

– 3 pounds of sweet potatoes, if large then just 3, if small or medium use 4.
– 1 cup of frozen corn kernels
– 2 green onions, here I subbed red onion because it’s sweeter and milder flavor. I used about a 1/4 of a cup.
– 1/4 bunch of cilantro (divided)
– 1/4 tsp cayenne pepper
– 1 tsp cumin
– 1 tsp salt
– 1 large egg
– 1/3 cup of yellow cornmeal
– 1 cup plain breadcrumbs
– 1/2 cup of veggie oil, here I subbed with EVOO light. It’s all I had and it still worked, just takes a few minutes more for the oil to heat up. And a more freshening oil too. You can use really any oil. If you want super healthy try coconut oil for cooking.
– 1 cup of plain yogurt, I always use Greek yogurt it has a delightfully tangy taste for making dips which you’ll need for the topping/dip.
1 clove of garlic

Cooks Note: I know this seems like an absolute lot to do and get, but a lot of these ingredients will help aid you in  other recipes and they are things you probably use on a consistent basis already.

The How To:

1. First you want to cook the potatoes. What I did was exactly what the recipe calls for. I wrapped each potato individually in a paper towel and cooked in the microwave for 5 minutes. Make sure the centers are soft, squeeze the centers. To get to this microwaving point, however, I wet each potato to remove dirt and moisten each one while in the microwave and stabbed each potato thoroughly with a knife. Then in the wave they went one by one.
2. As each potato finishes, the one before it will be cooled off. Begin peeling back skins and scooping out the potato into a large bowl. Then you want to add the onion, frozen corn, half the cut cilantro, cayenne pepper, cumin, salt. Mix this well, it also helps adding the frozen corn the warmth of the potatoes finishes thawing those out, it’s a balancing process.
3. After the first mixing is done thoroughly you now want to add the egg, cornmeal, and breadcrumbs. Mix this well as you’ve just put a fresh egg in the mix. And now once all the breadcrumbs and cornmeal have been mixed in you want to stick it in the fridge for 30 minutes. This stiffens the mixture to make the patties and moistens the breadcrumbs and cornmeal. **here I set a timer on my microwave because I knew I’d forget about them if I didn’t.
4. Now while we’re waiting for our mixture to set, we make the dipping sauce. Here is where your yogurt, garlic and other half of cilantro come into play. Take the yogurt and scoop into desired bowl, stir in the cilantro, and dice up very finely to the point of minced, your 1 clove of garlic. Then stir that in as well. Sit that in the fridge until the end. While it’s in the fridge, the yogurt will soak up the flavors you’ve mixed in it and come together beautifully!
5. Now to fry and eat! Pour your oil in the bottom of a skillet, you want enough to coat the bottom and still have enough to use for remaining cooking. Make small patties can use a tablespoon scoop and do 3 scoops to make 1 patty. Depending on skillet size can cook 4-6 at a time. About 2 minutes on each side and then out of the skillet and onto a paper towel to drain the oil off.
6. Last but not least, let them cool a few minutes, top with cilantro sauce if desired and serve!

Cooks Note: so let’s be honest! As I was making the dipping sauce I put in the fridge saying that’s gunna be nasty! But I’ll try it anyway. Well it was not. It was absolutely delightful! And instead of topping each patty with a spoonful my husband and I just dipped the cakes in the mixture.

For actual dinner, I made our version of taco salad. This is solely Henson version, feel free to make your own version, cooking is the best way to experience flavor and experimenting is how you find what you love!
Henson Taco Salad:
Ground turkey
Bell pepper (any color)
Red onion
Shredded cheese (any flavor)
Shredded lettuce
Sour cream
Tortilla chips
Tomatoes diced
So you wanna start by browning the meat, I also mix in as I’m browning the diced pepper and onions. It flavors the meat and sautés the veggies at the same time. Once meat is brown and no more pink, drain the water/grease if any. Now place mixed veggie Turkey Mix back into skillet and add 3/4 cup of water and 1 pkg of taco seasoning. Bring it to a boil and then reduce heat to a simmer so the water makes a thick sauce. Once you got that, take it off the burner. Now you decorate your salad. Place a few scoops of meat mix on a plate, top with cheese, lettuce, tomato, sour cream and crunch up some tortilla chips. And voila! Dinner is served! Super easy, super quick and makes for great left over’s as well!

I hope you enjoy the recipes above, remember fresh is best and never be afraid to experiment with flavorful explosions! Until next time!

Happy Cooking Y’all!
-Katie H. 💜

Leave a Reply

