Uncategorized

Grilled Burritos!!! 🌯🌯🌯

   

Welcome back to my kitchen y’all! So here in the beautiful Sunshine State where we get to be sun bums literally year round, soups and casseroles are not typical even in December. The coldest we’ve had is about 68β€’ and it wasn’t even all day! β€’β€’β€’ Today I decided to start back up on my cooking and recipes for y’all! So today I made grilled burritos! I’ve been dying (not literally!) to use my George Foreman for anything besides burgers or steak, which was a recent adventure. I’ve been browsing Pinterest and have not found anything that satisfies my desire. So I decided to make my own version of what I think a grilled burrito would be like! β€’β€’β€’β€’ As you can see from the photo above, the ingredients, forgive me I did not want to dirty up anymore dishes, so it stayed in the skillets and pots! 

  
Okay so from here you can see the beginning process and the finished product all in the same photo! I believe it’s important for you to see the beginning, I’m sorry I didn’t take step by step photos, but it is so easy and really, you can decide how to layer your ingredients your way! 

Step One: brown 1 pound of turkey meat 

Step Two: add your water and taco sauce after you drain the meat from excess fats and water

Step Three: heat up your retried beans either on the stove or in the microwave 

Step Four: cut the veggies you want! I used iceberg lettuce, green bell peppers, and a white onion. I fixed it all up and sliced thinly the lettuce. I mixed it all up to make for easier layering between burritos. And also shred your cheese if you buy it by the block!

Step Five: it’s layering time! So now, you want to take your wraps, it does not matter if you use flour, wheat, corn, while wheat, whatever your tastebuds love, use it! Heat about 4 at a time in the microwave for about 10 seconds. This will make them easy to roll and less likely to break in the process.

A–first spread your beans on the bottom like you’re painting the tortilla.

B–add a small amount of the meat mixture, not too much because you’re going to want to roll your tortillas up and not bust them open from too much filling.

C–add your veggies and shredded cheese

D–here I added taco sauce like the lightest of drizzles because too much liquid can be no bueno for the burrito. 

E–now you roll it up burrito style! So, take 2 sides opposite of each other,fold it in about 1 inch on each side, then simultaneously holding those ends, grab the bottom and roll it up to the top, tucking it into itself as your roll. And now you grille! 

F–heat up your Foreman, you probably wanna have this preheating while you’re preparing your burritos. Spray cooking butter into your grille, you won’t get burn marks! And you get nice grille marks instead! I place it seam side down so the grille seals in the amazing flavors! You wanna leave it on the grille for about 2-3 minutes, no need to flip, you have grille slates on both sides. 

  
And now you get to enjoy hot off the grille with your favorite toppings like more veggies, sour cream or salsa! Or you can let them cool off for a few minutes and then wrap them in aluminum foil, at that point you can put them in the fridge if you’re gunna eat them within 2 days or freeze them and reheat in the microwave or a conventional oven, toaster oven.
That’s it for now! I hope you try it! If you try it and you like it, follow me for more awesome recipes! From my kitchen to yours happy cookin and enjoy!

Katie H 

Leave a Reply

