Recipes from my Kitchen

Honey Mustard Chicken Salad 

Happy New Year Y’all! Yay for being 2017! 

Most of you know I’m a substitute teacher during the school year and full time grad student during the rest. Well, being a wife also has its “duties.” But it’s best not to look at them as duties or it’ll be hard to do things with a joyful heart. I’ve been on break from both grad school and subbing for like 2 weeks now, so I’ve had nothing but time to clean, sleep,  research new recipes and enjoy life and the holidays! 

Tonight for dinner I made honey mustard chicken salad. This is probably one of the quickest and easiest things I’ve ever made! From start to finish it was about 30 minutes! I felt like I made a Rachel Ray 30-minute meal! Haha! But this isn’t from Rachel Ray. I found this via Pinterest, like all good things to try! The link is here which leads to Pinterest Honey Mustard Chicken Salad. I clicked on the link from Pinterest but it just leads to a failed website. I’m assuming the blogger moved to another site or something. So all the ingredients are listed on the link. 

But here’s what I did:


[obviously I first posted this on my Instagram story 😂]

But, you can see in the blue bowl, I chopped a regular head of lettuce and placed it in the base of the bowl. Then I cut 3 Roma tomatoes 🍅 and layered them on top of the lettuce. I sliced a red onion into this sliced circles and cut the sliced circles into quarters. I chopped the onions that way because I wanted to see the onions and also so my husband could take them off his salad if he wanted to. Lastly I added croutons. Just a simple seasoned crouton. I replaced the crunchy wontons with croutons. Same effect. Lastly I took 5 chicken tenders, because they were so skinny and little, I seasoned them with salt and pepper on both sides and drizzled extra virgin olive oil (evoo) on them. I put a skillet on the stove poured evoo into it, maybe 2 tablespoons worth, enough to create the smallest layer on the bottom of the pan. Turned the heat to medium. My stove goes by numbers, so if it helps, mine was at 6. Once it was hot enough I laid the chicken in the pan. It cooked maybe 10-12 minutes. ••Side Note•• Your chicken should not have any pink in it when you slice it! If it does put it back in the pan and cook for an additional 2 minutes until pink color is gone.•• I let it get a nice sear and golden layer on each side. Honestly it doesn’t matter how you do your chicken. I wanted to try something different so that’s why I chose pan seared chicken style.

••Side Note••  Usually however, I would’ve probably grilled it on the George Foreman using the same seasoning. You can also do a bread crumb instead. I use a mixture of plain or panko bread crumbs and add a handful of hemp seeds, first dip it in all purpose flour, then egg wash, then bread crumb mix. Then you can bake that for about 20-30 minutes depending on the size of your chickens–whether it’s chicken boobs or tenders. It doesn’t matter how you cook the chicken, it’s whatever you and whomever your cooking for likes! 

Alright so ingredients, cause that’s definitely helpful! 

1 head of iceberg lettuce or romaine 

3 Roma tomatoes

Handful of croutons or more depending on your liking 

1 red onion using only a quarter of it to make slices. 

Feta cheese for sprinkling on top

2 chicken breasts or 4 chicken tenders 

Salt, pepper, evoo 

Honey Mustard dressing
Final Result: 

I mixed the ingredients in the salad bowl, sprinkled some feta cheese on top, added my sliced up chicken that ended up cut into cubes, and drizzled the honey mustard dressing on top! I cannot tell you enough how amazing it was! Definitely will be added on the continued go to list for quick and easy dinners! Also, feel free to make your own homemade honey mustard dressing if you desire…I didn’t because I don’t trust myself on many homemade dressings. Another adventure for a different time! Hah! 

Happy cooking from my kitchen to yours! 

Katie 💜

Leave a Reply

