Color Run 2017 🌈

Crushing goals in a big way! πŸ™‹πŸΌπŸ’ͺ🏻🀜🏻





DON’T STOP DREAMING! β€’||β€’ DON’T STOP MOVING! 

Howdy Folks! 

I’m so happy to share this post with everyone! On Saturday I completed my first 5k!! I ran the Color Run which took place in Osceola County at the Osceola Heritage Park in Kissimmee!! It was incredible! I have to be honest, I was extremely nervous and fearful to do this. I haven’t always maintained my athletic abilities since I became a teenager. However, since December of 2016, I’ve made conscious effort to begin being healthy again. My weight has continually fluctuated since my parents divorce and it doesn’t help that I have a tendency to be overly emotional about specific situations I go trough in life. With the effort to stay healthy, I think I’ve mentioned this in previous posts, that for maybe six months prior to investing in physical exercise, Gared and I made a decision to begin buying organic as much as possible. That included our foods and our chemical products for cleaning as well. 

That was not an easy transition to make, but we are so glad that we did! We’ve seen such amazing physical changes in our bodies as far as feeling more of the natural energy our body creates. Now don’t misunderstand we still eat out every now and again, and we still have days where we falter and we are okay with that. We don’t shame ourselves if we falter, we just accept it and move ahead. Sorry for my rabbit trail, but I thought some background info would be helpful! 

So anyway, the week leading up to this event was extremely busy for me and I had only exercised a few times. I even doubted myself that I would be able to keep up with my team. Especially since they both were and are extremely active. But I made the decision to enjoy this regardless of it I can or cannot keep up with the team. 


So we took off! I began to jog my way out of the starting lineup and I did well for about 3 minutes, then I started to feel it. My legs began to tighten up and tire out, my lungs were not pumping oxygen as well and I was becoming short of breath. So I slowed down to a walk. I felt shame. I felt bad for my team. But I snapped out of it and told myself to keep going! Shortly I began walking at a fast pace and made it to the first color πŸ’›! We ran through yellow because they throw chalk at you and it sucks to breath it in! Then I fast walked and kind of jogged to the next color, purple πŸ’œ! My favorite as pictured above! Then the mile one marker was in sight! And a sense of overwhelming happiness flooded my mind and heart! That sight was just what I needed to keep going! So we continued the run and began to walk and run through various parts of the path! Soon enough, we saw the foam zone and were over halfway finished with the race! 

The joy of running through the foam zone was real life! As you can see our shoes enjoyed a nice bubble bath! Haha! 
Then this image happened!!! We saw the finish line! And we agreed to run through the finish line no matter what! 

So I did! I took a second and then I ran! I ran as fast and as hard as my body would take me and I crossed the finish line running! 

Made it! I did it! In about 40 minutes I walked and ran the color run! Getting that medal was the most beautiful experience! It showed I completed the challenge! I pushed myself in ways I have never before and I succeeded! 

Fulfilling dreams! 

The aftermath! 


Chalk dust, unicorns πŸ¦„, new friends and accomplished goals!

 Guys and gals around! If you are super athletic, don’t take it for granted, if you’re super skinny, it doesn’t always mean you are in shape and healthy! And being fat doesn’t mean you’re not healthy either! I am beyond blessed and so happy to have completed this challenge I set for myself! I hope this brings encouragement to others! If you’re moving, you’re doing more than you were before! Everyday I move is a victory over weight gain! Everyday I exercise when I don’t want to is a victory over my health! Trust me when I say, it was not an easy challenge! But running across that finish line was exhilarating and freeing! I found out in myself that I can accomplish goals, I don’t have to give up and my journey does NOT look like everyone else’s! And guess what?? I am okay with that! My journey is my own and I’m taking my health seriously everyday! We need to stop comparing ourselves to what we aren’t and start accepting ourselves for who we are! When we do that, we begin to change because we want to, not because someone else says we should or we see it in a magazine or social media or billboard what some people say we should look like–men and women alike! 

I hope people are encouraged by this post! Go out and change your world! Be a healthier you than yesterday and do it at your own pace! 

Xoxo,

K

Leave a comment