Photo Box Organization 

Hello Y’all! 

It’s been a busy couple of days here in the Henson home! I recently completed all my required Internship I hours for grad school and that’s been such a sweet relief because I’ve kind of been able to chill and not be on hyper-speed. 💁🏼😴 In example: sleep! Praise Him! However, come Monday I’m back at hyper-speed trying to get a few more hours in to complete my newest Internship II before December! But, no worries, I GOT THIS! 

So needless to say, since I’ve been on slow motion all week I’ve been able to clean, clean out soooooo much! I’m so thankful! And since then, I’ve been able to do a little more recipe trying and so forth, but that’s for another post!

If you follow my Instagram page then you already know last week my hubs and I took a regular old visit to see my mom. My mom is currently down sizing her home and all of her belongings. When I say all of her belongings I mean a lot! If you didn’t know already, my parents were divorced in 2005 and although we have gone through so much since my parents divorce, there are still many more sentimental items yet to be decided on–keep or trash. Most things we can say, okay we don’t need it or I don’t have space for it, or what in the hell would I do with one more crockpot ?? Well that’s a little difficult to do with pictures! These hold the most sentimental value of almost all our belongings. They also hold so many memories both happy and sad. 

Like this one above. This is my Grampa! My heart outside of my chest! The only other man to fit that role is my amazing husband Gared! I’m not sure what year this picture was taken, but I do know it’s at a craft show and craft shows bring back beautiful memories and a creative streak only God could give! To me, this is sentimental because now we are experiencing the aging process of my grandparents and that’s no easy adventure. So we all tend to cherish these memories a little bit more! 

And this one above, my baby sister and Grampa! This obviously appeals more to her, but this is a cherished moment and extra sentimental. We were at Six Flags Over Georgia for the umpteenth time that summer I’m sure. But this is the kind of man my Grampa was and still is, he loves to see us try to complete something on our own. And he would never show if he was scared, so it built a major confidence in us, even if we failed and failed miserably, it’s okay. My Grama is that way too! They’re pretty incredible like that. 

And this below, two dogs we used to own and could not bring to Florida with us on our crazy venture to transplant our lives! I’ve never seen my mama cry so much over having to give up an animal. 

So how do we get rid of memories like this? Well, my method is this, if you have doubles, triples, or quad prints, toss the extras and keep one copy only! Ugh! Did I seriously just say that?! Yep! 

👆🏻This is the box of pictures I went thru! So, I had multiples on multiples on multiples of pictures. So my beautiful mom in all her wisdom separated the pictures in smaller plastic boxes and put them all inside a big one…what??!! 🤷🏼‍♀️ Makes me laugh a little! Okay back to organizing! I started by separating all the pictures, negatives, cd’s, paper/plastic holders, and multiples. Then I began by taking two patterned scrapbook papers and a 4X6 photo. 

I first traced the photo on the backside of the printed paper and added a tab by guessing what it would look like. I created tabs on the left, right and center so they created a file system. I made 4 tabs with each paper. I’ll use the rest for our family scrapbook. 

The tracing was all completed on the back so as not to mess up the front and it made it easier to cut. Once my tabs were created I would have taped a blank white index card on the front and labeled each set of photos in that file, but I only could find my neon colors. 😂

So for an example I separated pictures for my mom to decide on, my baby sister to decide on, random family pictures, Disney and Seaworld pictures and so forth! I eliminated the negatives, paper/plastic picture holders the stores give them to you in, cd’s and the pictures fit perfectly! We also now have three extra empty boxes for something else! 

If you are needing a new way to organize your pictures, even in a regular cardboard photo box this system will still work! Hope y’all enjoyed reading! Thanks for stopping by! 
If you have a new way to organize photos share in the comments below and let me know! 
Have a Beautiful Week!

Katie 

Leave a comment